Home Life: Apple Pie

Apple Pie always reminds me of my great grandmother, Mama Rose! I like to make it in honor of her, but I really wish she was here to do it with me! My apple pie never looks or tastes like her apple pie, or even the cook book! But it is fun to try! This was my attempt to get it right this year for thanksgiving, let’s hope it tastes good!

recipe apple pie ashleigh miller photography home life

Ingredients Stuffing:

 

8 apples

 

2/3 cup brown Sugar

 

1/2 TSP ground cinnamon

 

2 TSP water

 

Ingredients Pie Dough:

 

2 1/2 heaping cups Flour

 

Pinch Salt

 

6 TBSP white Vegetable fat

 

6 TBSP cold water

 

Beaten egg

 

recipe apple pie ashleigh miller photography home life

Peel, core and slice the apples.recipe apple pie ashleigh miller photography home life

Mix the apples with sugar and cinnamon.recipe apple pie ashleigh miller photography home life

Sift the flour and salt then mix them with the butter and fat till it looks like bread crumbs. Add water, wrap in plastic wrap and chill for 30 minutes. recipe apple pie ashleigh miller photography home life

Roll out the dough for the pie plate. Fill with the apples. Cover the top with the remainder crust. Make slits in the top and bake at 425 for 20 minutes then reduce heat to 350 for another 30 minutes.recipe apple pie ashleigh miller photography home life

This is the finished product! Full of apples, not so pretty this year! (I was missing my lattice helper!) But I really hope it is yummy! Have a happy turkey day!

Leave Some Love!!

